Picture of Victorian Wedding Bride Cameo
 
Home
Bed & Breakfast / Accommodations
check Availability or Book Now

Gift Certificates
(B&B or Wedding Present!)

Wedding Venues & Reception Areas
Wedding / Party Packages
Events/Parties
Wedding / Thank You Cards
Christmas Cards!
All Card Types
(Custom/Handmade by Local Artist)

History
News
Contact Us
Gallery of Images

Reviews
(From Around the Web)


Weddings in Damascus!
Damascus is for Families®



Follow us on Pinterest

  Find us on Facebook



we accept Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Cash, Checks, and PayPal
 
 
REVIEWS - BedAndBreakfast.com, TripAdvisor.com, Hotels.com, & 1 Personal Thank-You Letters
Rated 4.5/5 based on 46 customer reviews

Millsap-Baker Estate
"Fabulous B&B" (6/27/16) 5/ 5 (review: TripAdvisor)

This was the best Bed and Breakfast we have stayed in. James and Connie made us feel like we have always known them. Their home is the most beautiful, filled with heirlooms and antiques. The room was very comfortable and the entire house is immaculate. Drinks and snacks are abundant 24 hours a day. We were in Damascus to do the Creeper Trail, but the best part of the day was early evening pouring a glass of wine and sitting on the beautiful deck surrounded by magnificent views. We hated to leave and look forward to visiting again.


"Had an Absolute Blast" (5/30/16) 5/ 5 (review: BedAndBreakfast.com)

This was our first bnb stay, and we had a fantastic time. We came into this not knowing what to expect, but this place was perfect. The inside of the house was gorgeous, and we thoroughly enjoyed exploring all of the cool little decorations. We particularly thought the library was cool. The outside grounds were just as beautiful, and we spent a good portion of the evening after exploring Damascus, just sitting on the swing suspended from the tree in the front yard. Breakfast was great, with incredible food, and the best cup of coffee that I've ever had in my life. It was unbelievably good. I immediately asked the recipe (it's a special blend made by Dr James, and went to the store shortly after to buy one of the particular brands of coffee necessary for the brew. Damascus is an incredible little town with plenty to do, especially if you are into outdoors-esque stuff. There's a lot of other bnb's around there, but both of us would say you're truly missing out if you're not staying here. It's a sure bet.…


"Jason P." (5/7/16) 5/ 5 (review: Yelp.com)

My girlfriend and I were driving through Damascus (my favorite hiker-town, period) and needed a place to stay. As a hiker, I "love" the fun of staying in hostels and small holes in the ground whenever I can - however, as I was here on business we decided to find a more proper place to lay our heads. We had no predetermined destination, so we browsed around online until we stumbled across the Millsap-Baker - and am I ever-so-glad we did! We called roughly an hour in advance and still they accommodated us on the fly. The estate is a little off the beaten path, but trust the directions you're given and you'll find it. We were greeted by canons in the yard and a smile on the owner's faces. After a brief tour of the empty grounds (we somehow managed to arrive on a weekday with no guests), they turned over the run of the house to us... as such, we explored! Situated on a hill overlooking the main drag leading into town, the estate offers a quiet setting surrounded by high mountains and untouched nature. The house itself is grand, well decorated with exceptional antiques passed down through generations of owners, while offering modern amenities. We found ourselves lounging around in the downstairs parlor whilst watching television and munching on the provided snacks. It's a great place to be lazy and feel rich while not breaking the bank. Breakfast the next morning was great - though the conversation regarding the history of the house and the owner's themselves was even better. "Downtown" Damascus is a quick hike from the estate - not too close, not too far. A simple drive to be sure, but when in a hiker-town, you hike! We left out early the next morning after a quick breakfast that was provided and prepared ahead of time for us as we had a tight schedule. All-in-all, I highly recommend the Millsap-Baker if you're passing through Damascus and aren't really feeling up to living the "hiker-trash" lifestyle while you're visiting... then again, even if you are feeling extra smelly and have discernible dirt-lines on your legs, they'll still welcome you!


"Nice Place" (5/2/16) 3/ 5 (review: TripAdvisor)

My husband and I spent 2 nights there just this past weekend. Very nice and clean. Beautiful antiques throughout the home. Great tour with a lot of family history given. Very interesting history. Refrigerator and kitchen stocked with drinks and fruits.
Breakfast was offered but we preferred to go into town to eat.
The downside for us was there was no TV channels(no cable). There was free WIFI. All we had were many DVD's at our disposal. The room was huge and difficult to cool. We had the honeymoon suite due to it having a private bathroom. Bathroom was nice and clean. No hairdryer provided and no shower. Had a sprayer attached to bathtub.
We have stayed in several B&B's since husband has been thru hiking the AT. Our experience has shown us that this place was very overpriced. We stayed in much more modern and beautiful places much cheaper. If it had been priced appropriately I don't think we would have been as disappointed.

(owners note: First, I want to thank you for choosing to stay with us -- I really enjoyed talking with you both when you arrived, and wanted to respond to a few of your concerns:
Difficult to cool -- I also noticed when I was cleaning-up your room that it was warm. You had the thermostat set to 71, but it was 74 in the room. I was afraid that there might be something wrong with the heat-pump, until I noticed that you had the downstairs heat pump set to 80. When I installed the central heat and air, I had them install over-sized units to be sure, but with all the heat rising from downstairs, I guess the upstairs unit just couldn't keep up. The Victorian open staircase makes it impossible to prevent the vertical air flow.
Hair Dryer -- I am sorry about that, there should have been one in the bathroom cabinet. Thanks for letting me know; perhaps I should leave it on the counter in the future.
No Shower -- The Suite has a private full bath, with tub and "shower wand". For any Suite guests that want to use a "stand-up" shower, we allow them to use either of the other two bathrooms -- accessible from common areas. As there was no one else visiting us during your stay and since we live in a adjoining, but separate, house, you had the entire house to yourselves, and "private" access to all three bathrooms -- I'm glad you took advantage of that.
Pricing -- Many bed and breakfasts have cut way back on the quality of their amenities, especially when it comes to their breakfasts -- I know of several that now only provide fruit and bagels. We feel that breakfast is a very important part of the bed and breakfast experience and of what we offer -- and in fact for us, it is a significant part of our cost. I am truly sorry that you chose not to join us for breakfast -- we so love to meet with the travelers that have chosen to stay with us. For breakfast, my wife Connie, had purchased fresh strawberries, a cantaloupe, a mush melon, and some country ham to add to our scrambled eggs, biscuits, orange juice, and skillet-fried potatoes. We also offer a 24hr full snack bar and at least 6 types of complementary wine. If we didn't go all out on our "extras", the value (and price) would certainly be less. We were both very disappointed to discover you had left before we were able to say goodbye.
Godspeed, and enjoy your travels. )

"Weekend Getaway" (2/14/16) 5/ 5 (review: TripAdvisor)

We booked a last minute stay with the Baker's. Convenient location, interesting history, neat home, hospitable hosts.
We really enjoyed meeting James and Connie and learning the history of the house.
We also host a home in Asheville, NC and had a nice time "talking shop" over breakfast where we all shared hosting stories as well as a ideas for improving Guest experiences. And...the cinnamon rolls & biscuits were delicious!
Demarcus is a beautiful area and we look forward to coming back when it's warmer for some hiking & biking. --Ashley & Louis


"Awesome stay & friendly staff" (11/10/15) 5/ 5 (review: TripAdvisor)

I grew up in the Damascus, VA area and decided to stay at the Millsap-Baker Estate which was not in the area during my childhood. I looked into several local Bed & Breakfasts as well as Cabins within a 25 mile radius and many of them were very expensive....I don't mind paying for something as long as the amenities are good......many of the other places were 2 to 4 times the daily rate of the Millsap-Baker Estate and provided hardly any amenities, several didn't even provide a breakfast or any other type of food/snack which is what I thought a "bed & breakfast" is supposed to provide!?!
The room at the Millsap-Baker Estate was perfect for what we needed (we had the "Tower" room)....it had a comfortable queen bed, beautiful outdoor view, bath robes, plenty of towels, A BONUS of Super HOT water in the shower (which is not common for the area, many places run out of hot water), a unique history of the property as well as antiques & books to look at, very quiet area, a great location & close to all outdoor activities including the creeper trail, backbone rock, various mountains for hiking, and only a 15 minute drive into Abingdon!
There were 2 other rooms but only 1 of the rooms was occupied so were pretty much had the whole house to ourselves. The one other couple that stayed in the other room was super friendly and it felt like we were all a big family.
James & Connie were super friendly and made us a fresh home cooked breakfast each day & it was tasty.....they also woke up early one day to provide us a breakfast to go in a bag when we were leaving for an early hike....they also had wine, soda, water & other treats for us so we always had something to munch on.....we also had access to the kitchen & refrigerator for our leftovers or additional needs......we didn't use the TV but they had lots of variety of movies & TV streaming....we used the WiFi to stay connected online....this place is definitely a good place to stay!
I would definitely come back again.....I would also recommend everyone to stay here including local people looking for a "local vacation" from home.
Room Tip: Any room is good with a great view


"Disappointing breakfast" (11/2/15) 3/ 5 (review: TripAdvisor)

We stayed for 3 nights in the suite. We were the only guests in the house.The room was large and roomy. The house itself is beautiful and filled with amazing and interesting antiques, however when we stay at a "bed & breakfast" one of the features we look forward to is a good breakfast. We were terribly disappointed. We will not be returning. The host & hostess were very nice and knowledgeable about the history of the area.
Stayed September 2015, traveled as a couple

(owners note: I'm sorry you didn't enjoy our "southern English breakfast". It isn't anything fancy or gourmet, though we do adjust it to accommodate specific guest's dietary restrictions, e.g., vegetarian, kosher, gluten-free, etc. We typically serve eggs, meat(sausage, bacon, etc.), biscuits, skillet-fried potatoes or gravy, waffels (optional), fruit, orange juice, coffee/tea, etc.)
"Molly D." (10/21/15) 1/ 5 (review: Yelp.com)

If it were possible to rate zero stars I would. This was my number one choice for my upcoming wedding in June. After speaking with Connie (the owner) multiple times on October 5th we along with our families had booked a tour of the estate for October 19th to discuss their wedding packages. We had already decided just from the pictures this was the place for us so we already had a check in hand, ready to sign a contract the same day. I called on the evening of October 18th to confirm our appointment and was told by Connie she had no history of our calls or correspondence. My name didn't even seem to register with her. I was so looking forward to my perfect hometown wedding and just knew this would be the perfect venue. How saddened and disappointed my fiancé and I are that we have wasted two whole weeks without visiting other venues because we felt in our heart of hearts this place was the one. I have screenshots of my call log to prove our multiple phone conversations on October 5th as well as documentation in my wedding planner. The owner didn't even apologize on the phone when she realized she "forgot to write down our appointment." I've never done an online review before but felt given the situation this was necessary. I hope this review serves as a true example of how this place does business. So much for my fairytale, hometown wedding.

(owners note: We're glad you liked our place so much, and I am sorry that I forgot to enter your appointment in our log book -- my wife never actually spoke with you (my phone rolls-over to hers), so she was completely oblivous as to what had happened -- it was entirely my fault and I am sorry for not writing it down. We would have been glad to have met with you anyway, or reschedule the tour if that would have been better for you -- but we simply couldn't undue the fact that we didn't have your appointment written down.)
"USA Trip October 2015" (10/17/15) 4.6/ 5 (review: BedAndBreakfast.com)

Very friendly hosts who went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable, many thanks for that.


"Millsap-Baker Estate Review" (5/26/15) 4.6/ 5 (review: BedAndBreakfast.com)

The rooms are lovely. The breakfast was delicious. Enjoyed seeing the furnishings and the location is beautiful. The hosts were very helpful and pleasant.


"Genial hosts, wonderful setting and homely feel." (3/28/15) 5/ 5 (review: TripAdvisor)

We should really start by apologising to James and Connie for taking so long to write this review; we're quite slow on the uptake and have so far had little inclination to join trip advisor. However, where an exceptionally good (or bad!) experience is had we realise it is only fair to spread the word to other travellers... as we have made so much use of trip advisor reviews in the past.
After reading some of the other reviews we felt it necessary to add our own comments.
So.... as a young(ish) couple from the UK road-tripping from the South to the NE of the USA we were delighted to find availability at the Millsap-Baker Estate after deciding that we would like to ride the ‘Creeper Trail’.
On arrival, James and Connie were cordial and made us feel especially welcome in their beautiful and charming home. Being a part of a relatively small community they had wonderful local knowledge and had in no time assisted us with booking our trail excursion; this was a very kind touch.
Snacks were plentiful and creature comforts on standby for allowing us to unwind after many hectic days travelling previous. Breakfast was home-cooked and tasty. It was also really nice to have them sit and enjoy breakfast with us (and this was not something that felt awkward or forced), which provided a great opportunity to discover more about a whole host of things (on both sides!).
The accommodation is clearly not ‘corporate’, ‘boutique’ or ‘beach-luxury’ in the sense that some people may crave but for us it was clean, well-presented and full of character; with antiques, heirlooms and personal items which really allowed one to live and breathe the distinctiveness of the locality.
Over the space of several weeks we stayed at a variety of establishments from the ‘5*’ to the stereotypical Bates-style motel, however it is the Millsap-Baker Estate that has left the lasting impression on us.
A unique gem and we would one day love to return with family to this special part of the world.
We wish James and Connie all the best.


"Katie D." (3/19/15) 5/ 5 (review: Yelp.com)

I stayed here last night and it was such an amazing experience! I was greeted when I came in, even though it was quite late and was offered wine, water, soda, and snacks, all complimentary, and then I was shown my room. It was very cute and very clean. Everything in the house was gorgeous and the location was picturesque. The only downside is that if you have AT&T you get no cell service, but there is wifi. They also had TV and a roku as well as a DVDS player and collection. They had a delicious breakfast prepared for me at 8:30 and the owner was great to chat with! If you are in this area, you have to stay here!

(owners note: The Damascus area has "spotty" AT&T coverage, though most other cell phones work well: Sprint, Verizon, Virgin Moble, etc.)
"Perfect place for a getaway!" (3/18/15) 4/ 5 (review: Hotels.com)

This is a quaint B&B and such a nice place to stay if you want a change in scenery from regular hotels or a nice romantic getaway. The house is gorgeous and so is the property. They do have Wifi and lots of entertainment options, but I did not have cell phone service. The owners of the property are very sweet and prepared a great breakfast with great conversation.

(owners note: The Damascus area has "spotty" AT&T coverage, though most other cell phones work well: Sprint, Verizon, Virgin Moble, etc.)
"Absolutely Gorgeous!!!" (1/3/15) 5/ 5 (review: BedAndBreakfast.com)

We stayed in February 2014 for a romantic getaway. We stayed in the Yellow "bridal" suite. First, I want to say the hosts were Extremely Warm and Welcoming! Dr. James and Connie Baker really welcomed us and made us feel at home! They showed us where extra blankets & pillows were to help make our stay comfortable. They asked us if we had any special dietary needs for our breakfast meal which was greatly appreciated as a vegetarian! The food that Connie made us was excellent! It was very cold that February, but we managed to keep warm. I absolutely adored the furnishings in house! I really can't get over how beautiful they were! My absolutely favorite room was the Library! I would Love to rent the entire location for a murder mystery party for friends and family! The whole place has real ambience!…


"Wonderful!!!" (1/3/15) 5/ 5 (review: TripAdvisor)

First off, the Bed and Breakfast itself is BEAUTIFUL!!! All of the rooms are gorgeous, and the outside patio is incredible! The library is definitely my favorite non bedroom room! I would love to rent the whole place instead of just one room to play a murder mystery with my friends/family.
The people who run it are so incredibly nice! They showed us where the extra blankets and pillows were located in case we should need them! They asked us if we had any special food needs so they could make us a great breakfast (which was SO GOOD!!!)
I was very impressed with everything.
I am definitely going to stay here again!


"Excellent Service Business" (12/31/14) 5/ 5 (review: TripAdvisor)

This is one of the most outstanding places to stay on the East Coast . Couples on a Honey Moon and romantic couples will definitely enjoy their stay at this location which is a very scenic area in the Summer and Fall seasons . LOcal people are genuinely friendly too .


"The food is great!" (12/31/14) 5/ 5 (review: BedAndBreakfast.com)

Love the food! Connie is a great cook.


"Best Bed and Breakfast" (12/31/14) 5/ 5 (review: BedAndBreakfast.com)

Thus is by far, the most gorgeous bed and breakfast. Their staff are not only prodessional, but personable as well. Very friendly and helpful. I've recommended this grrat place to everyone that comes to Damascus.


"Outstanding" (12/30/14) 5/ 5 (review: BedAndBreakfast.com)

One of the best places on the East Coast.This is an outstanding place worth all five stars.


"Excellent" (12/29/14) 5/ 5 (review: TripAdvisor)

Best Bed and Breakfast I have ever seen. I love and I will go there again. The people who run the Bed and Breakfast makes you fill like you are part of the family. Food is great. Located in the middle of a great tourist area.


"Exccellent" (12/29/14) 5/ 5 (review: BedAndBreakfast.com)

All I can say is this is the best Bed and Breakfast I have ever seen.


"Quiet getaway" (12/22/14) 4.2/ 5 (review: BedAndBreakfast.com)

The Baker's were very friendly & helped make us feel like home away from home. Lovely home & grounds.


"Worst B&B Experience" (12/22/14) 2/ 5 (review: TripAdvisor)

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in Oct. of 2013. We rented the room with the private bath over the kitchen, Apparently, the owner was still working on this room because all the drawers were full of his tools and equipment. We had no place for our cloths! Be warned that the private "bath" is next to the sloping roof and the tub has a handheld sprayer. There is no curtain which is not needed because one can not stand up in the tub! The toilet seat was held on with only one bolt. We had to be careful every time we sat down. We went to bed early to get an early start but sleep was impossible. Being an old home, there is little, if any, sound insulation. The owner was in the downstairs parlor telling the other guests about his run for county commissioner in a loud voice. When I went downstairs to ask them to hold it down, I was ignored. The breakfast is nothing original. Frozen hash browns from the store and you serve yourself. There are many cats on the property which is next to a school ball field. There were late night games with field lights and noise on Sat.

(owners note: Not sure what to make of this review -- we have no record of them staying with us, but perhaps they stayed under a different name -- not sure why they waited over a year to leave a review.
I was running for local office back in 2013, and I'm guessing politics were at play in this review as well. As to the individual points: There were tools in one of the suite's 20+ full-sized drawers -- I am sorry. The bath does have a hand held sprayer in addition to the tub faucet -- it is a standard, full sized, porcelain bathtub, not a stand-up tub/shower combination, there simply wasn't room. All guests are welcome to use one of the two showers in the manor house. Sorry about the missing bolt on the toilet seat -- I really wish you had told us. As soon as we learned of the problem we replaced the seat with an oak and brass one more suited to the house. The original house is of old construction (~5" thick, solid walls), but the suite is new construction (studded w/insulation), and is at the other end of the house and one floor up from the parlor. I am sorry if you were trying to sleep and were able to hear us; I had no idea. I was campaigning that month, came home at dark, and checked-in on our guests before retiring to our next-door apartment -- it couldn't have been later than 9pm, but I am sorry if I disturbed you. We serve a standard "Southern Breakfast": iron-skillet fried potatoes, open faced omelets, biscuits, sausage/bacon, orange juice, seasonal fruit, jams/jellies, oatmeal, etc. We do buy many of our ingredients from the store, including frozen diced potatoes, though we grow our own peppers, raspberries, blackberries, mulberries, kiwis, and now blueberries. And we have found it much better to allow guests to fill their own plates -- that way they can get what they want, and as much as they want. We own one strictly outdoor cat (my wife's allergic to cat dander), though with a barn and various outbuildings, there are often feral strays around, as are other country wildlife. The school ball field "next door" is about 1/10 of a mile away and on the other side of a stand of woods, and they occasionally have evening games, though I've never known them to play after 10pm, usually they're done by 9. We are truly sorry your stay was so unpleasant.)

"Wonderful B&B" (12/20/14) 5/ 5 (review: BedAndBreakfast.com)

Our computer wouldn't let us rate five stars, but it should have been!


"Dedinitely recommend" (12/20/14) 5/ 5 (review: BedAndBreakfast.com)

Delightful bed and breakfast! Our hosts went beyond what was expected to make our stay relaxing, enjoyable and memorable. We've been back a second time and were equally as impressed. Definitely recommend!


"It's alright" (10/25/14) 3/ 5 (review: TripAdvisor)

Me and my husband stayed here 2 nights so we could ride the creeper trail. The place is nice...however we were cold at night, our door wouldn't close tightly so it wouldn't lock and the 3 bedrooms upstairs share one bathroom which proved to be a big inconvenience. The breakfast was nice, however we would not stay here again.

(owners note: Sorry about the door jamb; it had gotten knocked out of alignment. It has been repaired, so this won't happen to anyone else. We live in an apartment next door, so we leave setting of the central heat and air to our guests. We also provide additional quilts and blankets in each room -- just in case. Although we have two full baths for the three bedrooms, I know some people are uncomfortable "sharing". We really wish there was a way to install additional bathrooms, but we haven't been able to find a way.)
"A GREAT Stay" (10/22/14) 4/ 5 (review: TripAdvisor)

My girlfriend and I rode the Virginia Creeper Trail October 11-12, 2014. We had a great time up there, but we got absolutely POURED ON for the second half on the way down. Tired, cold and drenched, we arrived at the Millsap-Baker to a warm greeting from Connie. Despite our ragged state she toured us around the estate, got us into a hot shower, and had candy, snacks, soda and wine. Our bed (in the Bay Room) was super snuggly and warm, and was a great place to take a nap, do some work and watch football.
Breakfast was super tasty - we were a bit disappointed that there weren't biscuits, but we missed on the website that you had to request certain items. All in all it was a fantastic stay, and I would easily go back if I ever found myself in the area.

(owners note: We used to only make biscuits when we were not serving home-made bread -- we now have biscuits by default every morning.)
"Outstanding" (8/22/14) 5/ 5 (review: Hotels.com)

The stay was excellent. Beautiful location and the accommodations could not have been better. Great Value. Very friendly staff and very accommodating to your needs. Given the opportunity, I would definitely stay here again.


"We'd stay again" (8/5/14) 4.8/ 5 (review: BedAndBreakfast.com)

We stayed two nights at this lovely B&B while attending the 2014 Virginia Highland Festival. Very comfortable home in a great setting. The hosts are warm and engaging - preparing a hearty home cooked breakfast each morning. Many extras. We will stay here again!


"Lovely B&B with Warm Hosts" (8/3/14) 5/ 5 (review: TripAdvisor)

We stayed two nights at this lovely B&B while attending the 2014 Virginia Highland Festival. Very comfortable home in a great setting. The hosts are warm and engaging - preparing a hearty home cooked breakfast each morning. Many extras. We will stay here again!


"Lovely older home with kind hearted hosts" (8/1/14) 5/ 5 (review: Hotels.com)

We stayed two nights at this lovely B&B while attending the 2014 Virginia Highland Festival. Very comfortable home in a great setting. The hosts are warm and engaging - preparing a hearty home cooked breakfast each morning. Many extras. We will stay here again!


"Anniversary getaway" (7/2/14) 5/ 5 (review: BedAndBreakfast.com)

This is a very beautiful home. We enjoyed the privacy of the location. The owners were great hosts. Our breakfasts were delicious. I highly recommend staying at the Millsap-Baker Estate.


"Personal "Thank-You" Letter" (3/16/14) 5/ 5

Dear Connie & James,
Thanks for the great breakfasts and accomodations. We had a great time while we were there. The history of your home & family and great conversations with you & your other young guests were really a bonus to our stay. And a really easy trip to the racetrack. We would like to stay again for next years race...Will contact you soon.
Thanks Again


"Amazing!" (3/14/14) 5/ 5 (review: Hotels.com)

The Millsap-Baker Estate is an amazing place to stay and visit. Too many great things to do creeper trail barter theatre bristol caverns countryside vineyard south Holston dam, etc. every place we went to was beautiful especially when we got home to our B and B. The stay was amazing and definitely would recommend it. My fiancé and I we are coming a few more times and she even wants to get married there. Amazing thank you Connie and James.


"great experience" (11/11/13) 5/ 5 (review: TripAdvisor)

We really enjoyed our stay. The familyhome is gorgeous, with evidence of much skill, care, and hard work to create an overall pleasant experience. We appreciated the advice ahead of time as we had never stayed in the area and planned to bike the Creeper Trail. An extra benefit was connecting with the innkeepers son, Carlton, who manages a store and shuttle service. It was a treat to be greeted with a glass of wine, homemade cookies and fruit! Thanks to Connie and Jim we felt so comfortable and we would definitely return.


"Very unique Victorian furnished B and B" (10/25/13) 4/ 5

The hosts are friendly and down-to-earth. Plenty of snacks and liquid refreshments along with a hearty breakfast. It would have been nice to have bedside reading lamps. Bathrooms were well appointed with modern upgrades.


"Millsap-Baker Estate" (9/3/13) 3/ 5 (review: TripAdvisor)

The price of the "Honeymoon Suite" was well above the area average, but as committed B&B’ers, we were willing to pay. We have stayed in numerous B&B's in a similar price range, and found the "Bed" at Millsap-Baker Estate to be quite lovely, but the "Breakfast" to be lacking in quality and quantity. At the price asked, we expected toiletries, TV reception, a blanket for the bed, and a door that locked when we were away. The renovations to the home are well done, the history of the family quite interesting, and the antiques beautiful. The hosts still have a way to go to make the actual experience match their website publicity. Finally, we question whether the surcharge of 10% to use a credit card is legitimate. Like so many of their guests, we paid in cash. Room Tip: Smaller bedrooms that share a bathroom may be a better value than the "Honeymoon Suite."

(owners note: Absolutely no idea there was a problem -- they stayed for 4 nights! I was running for local office, and guessing politics were at play. Our price is comparible to local B&Bs - several are higher. My wife has always received rave complements on her cooking, and we always have leftovers. The bathroom was fully stocked, including everything from face creams to band aids, and there were spare blankets in the armoire and beside the day bed -- which they used! We have over 3000 DVDs in stock, but alas, no TV reception -- and all doors do now lock (deadbolt added to the unused back kitchen servant stairs). As a small startup, we were hammered by credit card fees, and had to pass that along -- but no more. Almost all of our guests paid by personal check -- they were only one of two guests all of last year that paid by cash. We're very sorry if you were disappointed, and honestly confused by your comments.)
"Peaceful" (8/23/13) 4/ 5 (review: Hotels.com)

Beautiful home,quiet country setting! A real bargain! Thanks!!!!


"Great Start" (8/21/13) 4/ 5 (review: Hotels.com)

Let me say that I really wanted to give this B and B a 5 star rating because it is run by some great people and we definitely enjoyed our stay. The reason for 4 stars is that house and the grounds are still "unfinished". It did not bother us, but part of the house is still being renovated and the wifi was temperamental. No big deal really. We enjoyed talking with the couple -- the house has a great history, and if you like woodwork (like I do) then you will love this place. There are many exquisite pieces of hand carved furniture, along with doors and window frames made from chestnut. Did you know that Chestnut that does not have wormholes means that it was harvested before 1910? Not only did I have a nice stay, but I learned something new too! This was our first time in Damascus, and I can't imagine that there is a better place to stay. We would stay here again.


"Nice and Cozy" (7/29/13) 4/ 5 (review: TripAdvisor)

Owners, Connie and James, are excellent hosts. This house has been in their family for 3 generations.The history is very interesting. They've just recently opened it as a bed and breakfast. They have a very nice set up for weddings. They know the area well and are a wealth of information. Connie cooked a fabulous breakfast. The three upstairs rooms share the same bathroom, but you can go downstairs to the second bathroom. I would definitely stay there again.


"Millsap Baker" (7/24/13) 4/ 5 (review: TripAdvisor)

Gorgeous Inn with beautiful furnishings. Owners very nice and were able to provide a lot of history on their family home. Snacks and beverages were available any time as well as wine ! Very good breakfast provided and a great value. Good location just outside of Abingdon, VA. Will definitely return!!


"Millsap Baker Estate" (7/22/13) 5/ 5

Beautiful Inn. Staff was very accomodating, excellent breakfast, gorgeous Inn with many extras. Bottled Water, sodas, wine and all kinds of snacks. Owners were very infomative about the property and willing to share the history and his experiences there.


"Very impressive!" (3/15/13) 5/ 5 (review: BedAndBreakfast.com)

This house was so very impressive! I was there for an evening event, but we got there in time to see the outside. It was landscaped beautifully. There were two old fashioned porch swings in the trees and a cool looking barn. There was a big open field to park a lot of cars. The house was really neat, it was decorated with all kinds of antiques that fit it well with the time period of the house. I liked almost all of the food and the owners were very nice and friendly. I had a really good time.


"A lovely experience!" (3/13/13) 5/ 5 (review: BedAndBreakfast.com)

I stayed at the Millsap-Baker Estate for the weekend about a month ago, and the place is absolutely gorgeous! The woodwork of the kitchen cabinets is lovely, (the kichen is HUGE) and the cabinets go from the ceiling to the marbled floor. I was entranced by the victorian style dining room chairs...so ornate! But my favorite room had to be the library. It's a very atmospheric room! Everybody was extremely nice to me over my stay. I very much enjoyed my stay.


"Beautiful!" (3/13/13) 5/ 5 (review: BedAndBreakfast.com)

My fiance and I stayed here on a trip through the area. Not only is Damascus a wonderful area but this house was a highlight of our trip. It was beautifully restored and furnished with some of the most georgous furniture I have ever seen. The owners were very nice and friendly. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast. Another nice thing is that you can hold events there like weddings... which of course really interested my fiance! All in all, a VERY nice place to stay, in a wonderful town!


"Great place for a nice party." (3/7/13) 5/ 5 (review: BedAndBreakfast.com)

We held a family party at this beautiful home. It was like going back into time. The home was decorated in early 1900's . It was so elegant and even picture perfect. There was plenty of room for the eighteen of us. We were able to utilize the entire bottom floor. We did look upstairs and the rooms were very nice. The hosts were very friendly and accomodating. I would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting to host a nice party or club event.


 
web counter